The pink interior mural

The pink interior mural presents the portraits of Voltaire and his friend, colleague and great love Emilie du Châtelet.

In his left hand, Voltaire holds a book with a bouquet of flowers that explodes outwards to represent the sense of enlightenment in writing and philosophy. In his right hand, he holds a skull that expresses the man of science and the thinker he was. Next to his shoulder is his canary.

Emilie du Châtelet, drawn with hair bristling with flowers and butterflies, holds spacers in her left hand in reference to her work in physics and mathematics. In her other hand, she holds a portrait of Sir Isaac Newton whose original works she translated into French.

Around them, several elements (chandeliers, candelabras, vases and piles of books scattered among feathers and bouquets of flowers) give an idea of the atmosphere that may have reigned at the Château de Ferney at that time.

La peinture murale intérieure rose

La peinture murale intérieure rose présente les portraits de Voltaire et de son amie, collègue et grand amour Emilie du Châtelet.

Dans sa main gauche, Voltaire tient un livre avec un bouquet de fleurs qui explose vers l'extérieur pour représenter le sens de l'illumination dans l'écriture et la philosophie. Dans sa main droite, il tient un crâne qui exprime l’homme de science et le penseur qu’il était. À côté de son épaule se trouve son canari.

Emilie du Châtelet, dessinée avec des cheveux hérissés de fleurs et de papillons, tient des intercalaires dans sa main gauche en référence à se travaux de physique et de mathématique. Dans son autre main, elle tient un portrait de Sir Isaac Newton dont elle traduisit les œuvres originales en français.

Autour d’eux, plusieurs éléments (lustres, candélabres, vases et piles de livres éparpillés parmi des plumes et des bouquets de fleurs) donnent une idée de l’atmosphère qui a pu régner au château de Ferney à cette époque.